Editorial board disclosure policy


Journal of Endocrinology and Journal of Molecular Endocrinology Disclosure Policy

(Last updated March 2019)
All editors responsible for recommending or making publication decisions are requested to disclose on an annual basis any potential conflict of interest, including current or recent financial relationships with any commercial entity whose products or services may be contained in the journal content.
The following competing interests were disclosed:
Professor Simak Ali
Professor Ali owns shares in Carrick Therapeutics Ltd and has received royalties for a patent that has been licensed to Carrick Therapeutics Ltd. He has also received consultancy money from Carrick Therapeutics Ltd in 2017 and received a MRC PhD studentship jointly with Astra Zeneca (2018–2020).
Professor Wendy Bollag
Professor Bollag is listed as an inventor of the following patents: US Patent No 8,808,715 and US Patent No 8,524,692.
Dr James Cantley
Dr Cantley is an academic founder and shareholder of Oxstem Beta, a spin out from the University of Oxford seeking to develop new drugs to promote beta cell regeneration during diabetes. Oxstem Beta sponsors some research in the Cantley lab, which is goverened by University processes and a conflict of interest management plan. Dr Cantley has supervised several postdoctoral fellows under the Oxford-Novo Nordisk Fellowship scheme. These fellows are employed by the University of Oxford, but are sponsored by Novo Nordisk; https://www.rdm.ox.ac.uk/work-with-us/novo-nordisk-oxford-fellowships.
Professor Colin Farquharson
Professor Farquharson has received personal fees for his work on the HBLB VAC committee.
Professor Martin Haluzik
Professor Haluzik is on the advisory panel and has received lecture fees for: Novo Nordisk, Sanofi, Eli Lilly, Novartis, Johnson Johnson, Astra Zeneca and Mundipharma. He is also on the advisory panel for Medtronic and has received lecture fees from Merck.
Dr Rebecca Hull
Dr Hull has received research funding from Boehringer Ingelheim.
Professor Kevin McConway
Professor McConway has received speaker fees from the University of Reading, Association of British Science Writers, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, Springer Healthcare and the World Federation of Science Journalists. He has also received paid consultancies from the Open University, the BBC and University College London. Payments from the Royal Statistical Society for examination work, consultancy, and accreditation of university qualifications in statistics; payments for consultancy from the BBC; examiner fees from Queen Mary University of London; and payment for an article from the Meteorological Office.
Professor Greg Steinberg
Professor Steinberg has received consulting fees from Astra Zeneca, Boehringer-Ingelheim, Eli-Lilly, Novo Nordisk, Pfizer, Merck, Esperion Therapeutics and Rigel Pharmaceuticals, and has also received funding from Rigel Pharmaceuticals and Esperion Therapeutics. Professor Steinberg is co-founder, chief scientific officer and holds shares in Espervita Therapeutics; a company developing new therapies for liver disease. He also holds patents for inhibiting peripheral serotonin in obesity and diabetes and for the use of GDF15 as a biomarker of metformin action.
Dr Morag Young
Dr Young has received a research grant from AstraZeneca and NHMRC of Australia, research grants ending Dec 2019. She is also involved with new AstraZeneca MR antagonist for in vitro experimental studies and new Bayer MR antagonist for in vitro experimental studies.
The following editors reported no competing interests:
  • Associate Professor Sofianos Andrikopoulos
  • Dr Anita Boelen
  • Dr Eugenia Carvalho
  • Dr Chantal Chenu
  • Professor Barbara Clark
  • Professor Alan J Conley
  • Professor Weiping Han
  • Dr Jenny Juengel
  • Professor Sean Limesand
  • Associate Professor Miguel López
  • Dr Raul M Luque
  • Professor Jens Mittag
  • Professor Hindrik Mulder
  • Dr Ernesto Podesta
  • Professor David W Ray
  • Dr Aurea Orozco Rivas
  • Professor Rosalia Simmen
  • Professor Weiping Zhang
Bioscientifica staff and freelancers working on the journal reported no conflicts of interest. Article authors' declarations are stated in each journal article. Referees must disclose any competing interests before agreeing to review any submission. For more information on the journal’s ethical policy, please read the ethical guidelines.
This policy follows the recommendations of the International Committee of Medical Journals Editors (ICMJE) and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).